CastleCops, Internet Crime Fighters
Need help? Click here to register for free! Absolutely zero advertisements on this site!

Donation/Premium
spacer
block bottom
Security Central
spacer
· Home
· PIRT/Fried Phish
· MIRT
· SIRT
· Deutsch
· Wiki
· Newsletter
· O16/ActiveX
· CLSID List
· Contest2007
· Downloads
· Feedback (send)
· Forums
· HijackThis
· Hijacktrend
· LSPs
· My Downloads
· O18
· O20
· O21
· O22
· O23
· O9
· Premium
· Private Messages
· Proxomitron
· Reviews
· Search
· StartupList
· Stories Archive
· Submit News
· WsIRT
· Your Account
· Acceptable Use Policy
block bottom
spacer spacer

V22.5 do not find registrar for 'harro.be'

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Complainterator [del.icio.us!] [digg it!] [reddit!]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
efa

Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Joined: Aug 31, 2007
Posts: 164
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 11:06 am    Post subject: V22.5 do not find registrar for 'harro.be'
Reply with quote

Problem with:
Domain: hxxp://www.harro.be/
it cannot find the Registrar
end with Lost a Window

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
ahoier

SIRT Handler


Joined: Jan 14, 2006
Posts: 1113
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 7:36 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

you sure it's a spam domain? And not something you opted into on accident? (though, I can still understand you, wanting complainterator to fetch the correct page, incase the .be tld is later abused....)

It appears it lacks the "Registrar:" Keyword, and simply mentions dns.be.

Going there, I found the following link:
http://www.dns.be/whois/GetDomainStatus.do?lang=en&domainName=harro.be&imageField.x=9&imageField.y=5

But that calls up a "CAPTCHA" to be filled.

Upon entering the answer, I'm taken to http://www.dns.be/public/whois/GetWhois.htm;jsessionid=46786F289C6852131F559C0C1A187191

Where there is infact a "File a complaint" hyperlink, which links to http://www.dns.be/public/whois/FileComplaint.htm?domainName=harro

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
efa

Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Joined: Aug 31, 2007
Posts: 164
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 11:55 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

see the tracking url for the spam:
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z2413475152zca5e84a55650cc3f5cda8139ce582e7cz
Judge you if this is not a spam.
The report from dns.be is similar to Linux command Whois.
To me seems that the keyword to look for is:
Organisation
and the Registrar is Eurodns S.A.
what do you think?
So contact is: icann@eurodns.com

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
efa

Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Joined: Aug 31, 2007
Posts: 164
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 8:53 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I filled the form on dns.be complaining for harro.be
They answered me:


Dear,

The domain name mentioned in your e-mail message has been registered
through registrar Eurodns s.a. in Luxembourg. DNS BE is not the
registrar, but the registry, the technical manager of the .be Top Level
Domain.

DNS BE can only revoke domain names:
- in case you are in possession of a court order or similar document
that entitles us to intervene;
- in case you can demonstrate that the whois data of the domain name
holder are fake.

In all other cases DNS BE cannot delete particular domain names since we
are not a judicial body with the competence to evaluate whether or not
an illegal use of a domain name has occurred.

May I ask you to transmit documentation as set out above or to contact
Eurodns s.a. who might have more flexibility to act against its customer
who registered the domain name.

Kind regards,


Chantal Lurkin
DNS BE Legal Department

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
ahoier

SIRT Handler


Joined: Jan 14, 2006
Posts: 1113
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2008 4:52 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Ahh yes, the spamcop tracking link definately sheds some light Wink Definately looks spammy.

I'd say, try going after Eurodns, just ignore DNS.BE for now, but I'm thinking they should have control over the domains within their registry as well...likely "passing the buck" onto Eurodns...

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Complainterator All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Quick Reply:
Username: 

Quote the last message
Attach signature (signatures can be changed in profile)
 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
spacer spacer