CastleCops, Internet Crime Fighters
Need help? Click here to register for free! Absolutely zero advertisements on this site!

Donation/Premium
spacer
block bottom
Security Central
spacer
· Home
· PIRT/Fried Phish
· MIRT
· SIRT
· Deutsch
· Wiki
· Newsletter
· O16/ActiveX
· CLSID List
· Contest2007
· Downloads
· Feedback (send)
· Forums
· HijackThis
· Hijacktrend
· LSPs
· My Downloads
· O18
· O20
· O21
· O22
· O23
· O9
· Premium
· Private Messages
· Proxomitron
· Reviews
· Search
· StartupList
· Stories Archive
· Submit News
· WsIRT
· Your Account
· Acceptable Use Policy
block bottom
spacer spacer

Credit Card Scam

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Phishing, Fraud and Dastardly Deeds [del.icio.us!] [digg it!] [reddit!]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mae_m

Trooper
Trooper


Joined: Apr 05, 2007
Posts: 21


PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 12:48 pm    Post subject: Credit Card Scam
Reply with quote

An alert for those interested.

These sites are part of an elaborate stolen credit card scam that uses "mules" recruited through fake job listings to open bank and merchant accounts to run stolen credit card numbers through.

NONE of these sites actually sells website templates. They are all fraudulent. Most of the individuals who set the companies, bank and merchant accounts up were not aware that they were dupes in this scam.

Most of the sites are now showing a Internal Error 500! but I believe that to be a counter move on the scammers part. Here is a screen shot of the template:

http://img401.imageshack.us/my.php?image=toykdxg6.png

If you have a charge from one of these websites (most likely for 9.90) know that it is NOT legitimate and that your credit card information has been compromised. Report this as a fraudulent charge to your cc company and request that your cc account be closed and a new card and number be issued to you.

For additional information on how this scam operates please visit:

dslreports cc scam information

MGD at dslreports has been following this scam for years and has written extensively about it.

Quote:

http://www.ubrtemplate.com UBR Limited

http://www.info-templates.com InfoBite UK Ltd

http://www.gw-templates.com GW INTERNATIONAL INVESTMENT &TRADE CO.,LTD

http://www.cannydesign.com Canny IT Limited

http://www.akshartemplate.com Akshar Consultancy Limited

http://www.afrtemplate.com AFREZ6 Limited

http://www.vtdiz.com Vivid Technologies Ltd
.
http://www.tsdiz.com Techsets Ltd

http://www.sudiz.com Sucre Services Limited

http://www.gsdiz.com Greer Services Ltd

http://www.vividtemplates.net Vivid Technologies Ltd

http://www.techtemplate.net Techsets Ltd

http://www.sucretemplates.com Sucre Services Limited

http://www.infobite-templatestore.com Stonegate Ltd

http://www.ibtemplates.com InfoBite Solutions Limited

http://www.bbcv-templates.com Bubble Burst Creative Ventures Limited

http://www.bbctemplates.com Bubble Burst Creative Ventures Limited

http://www.toytemplates.com Toyk Design Ltd

http://www.simplytemplate.net Simply Websites Ltd

http://www.scorpiotemplates.com Scorpio Connect Ltd
.
http://www.infobitedesign.com INFOBITE SOFTWARE LIMITED

http://www.greerdesign.net Greer Services Ltd

http://www.gracefuldesign.net GRACEFUL MOVE LIMITED

http://www.creative-templates.net Creative Communications UK LTD

http://www.hephzitechdesign.com HEPHZITECH TECHNOLOGIES UK LIMITED

http://www.cctemplates.net Computer Consultants, LTD

http://www.ubrdiz.com UBR Limited

http://www.htdiz.com HEPHZITECH TECHNOLOGIES UK LIMITED

http://www.ibdiz.com InfoBite Solutions Limited

http://www.dizib.com INFOBITE SOFTWARE LIMITED

http://www.ccdiz.com Computer Consultants, LTD


Thread at aa419

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website
moike

PIRT Handler
Premium Member

Joined: May 26, 2006
Posts: 1871

Phishing Squad Premium

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:10 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

A fascinating case! I hope that they can close this scam method and determine the total scope - it may be even bigger than it looks here.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
Corrine

Site Moderator


Joined: Aug 22, 2004
Posts: 2465

Moderators MVP

PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2008 12:15 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Thanks for the info, mae_m.

Coincidentally, someone named cannydesign registered at Freedomlist today, posted a couple of useless responses which were the first clue. Second was support @ cannydesign.com in the signature. A search brought me to this topic.

Not surprising: http://samspade.org/whois/85.29.195.72

Guess who is no longer able to post at FL? Smile


_________________
image - "Security Garden" - image
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Send email Visit posters website
mae_m

Trooper
Trooper


Joined: Apr 05, 2007
Posts: 21


PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:13 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

@ moike yes there is no doubt that there are hundreds of other sites used solely for this purpose. It is hard to fathom the access these criminals have to stolen credit card details.

@Corrine once I posted the urls the criminals began their attempts to knock any mention of fraud related to these sites down the search engine rankings by spamming forums.

These are the one they seem most interested in protecting:

Quote:
support @ cannydesign.com
support @ vividtemplates.net
support @ VTDIZ.COM
support @ techtemplate.net
support @ TSDIZ.COM
support @ sucretemplates.com
support @ SUDIZ.COM
support @ greerdesign.net
support @ GSDIZ.COM
support @ ibtemplates.com
support @ IBDIZ.COM
support @ infobitedesign.com
support @ DIZIB.COM
support @ cctemplates.net
support @ CCDIZ.COM

If victims were to search after seeing an unknown charge on their credit card they would not immediately find that the site is associated with the scheme.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website
AlphaCentauri

SIRT Handler
Premium Member

Joined: Nov 20, 2003
Posts: 2856

Premium

PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2008 1:05 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I tried viewing some of the pages on your protected list
cannydesign.com
vividtemplates.net
VTDIZ.COM
techtemplate.net
TSDIZ.COM
sucretemplates.com
SUDIZ.COM
greerdesign.net
GSDIZ.COM
ibtemplates.com
IBDIZ.COM
infobitedesign.com
DIZIB.COM
cctemplates.net
CCDIZ.COM

and they are all displaying the page "Internal Error 500!" But they aren't suspended.

It's an interesting forum spamming technique -- creating users with names like cannydesign.com, vividtemplates.net, techtemplate.net, sucretemplates.com etc. and registering them on websites all over the place. Apparently it gets pretty high page rank.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
S2raf

Guest
IP: 78.86.*.*






PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 9:43 am    Post subject: Thanks
Reply with quote

Just cancelled my 2 credit cards wich have been charged as you mentioned, thanks a lot for the info, you have made my day...

Back to top
thebondman

Guest
IP: 86.140.*.*






PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:09 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

i got done by infobitedesign.com for £9.90 and promptly got intouch with my credit card company to change my card. the weird thing is emailed the fake websites support address and they actually gave me a reply and a refund Confused

Back to top
AlphaCentauri

SIRT Handler
Premium Member

Joined: Nov 20, 2003
Posts: 2856

Premium

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 12:09 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

You folks are all cancelling these credit cards, right? This incident shows your credit card numbers are for sale on the world market; getting a refund is not enough.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
mae_m

Trooper
Trooper


Joined: Apr 05, 2007
Posts: 21


PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 12:06 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

@thebondman

Refunding the charge after a complaint is received is actually part of the criminals MO. They are hoping to minimize the number of fraud complaints sent to the merchant account. Too many complaints and they will get shut down. Better to quickly refund those (maybe 1-2%) who actually catch the charge and take the time to complain.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Phishing, Fraud and Dastardly Deeds All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Quick Reply:
Username: 

Quote the last message
Attach signature (signatures can be changed in profile)
 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
spacer spacer