CastleCops, Internet Crime Fighters
Need help? Click here to register for free! Absolutely zero advertisements on this site!

Donation/Premium
spacer
block bottom
Security Central
spacer
· Home
· PIRT/Fried Phish
· MIRT
· SIRT
· Deutsch
· Wiki
· Newsletter
· O16/ActiveX
· CLSID List
· Contest2007
· Downloads
· Feedback (send)
· Forums
· HijackThis
· Hijacktrend
· LSPs
· My Downloads
· O18
· O20
· O21
· O22
· O23
· O9
· Premium
· Private Messages
· Proxomitron
· Reviews
· Search
· StartupList
· Stories Archive
· Submit News
· WsIRT
· Your Account
· Acceptable Use Policy
block bottom
spacer spacer

Antivir is detecting HTML/Feebs.Gen varient in my email

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> AntiVir Personal Edition Classic [del.icio.us!] [digg it!] [reddit!]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cilypudi

Cadet
Cadet


Joined: Jan 14, 2006
Posts: 8
Location: Bumfukteejipt, MS, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:46 am    Post subject: Antivir is detecting HTML/Feebs.Gen varient in my email
Reply with quote

Hey folks. I am very computer literate and keep a squeaky clean system, but this is stumping me. I have four email accounts. All are acting normally except for my ISP bellsouth.net email. When I click on any email, Antivir detects 'mobmain[1].htm', and I quarantine it. Then, when I look at the unsuspicious, legit mail and hit delete, Antivir detects 'AppLogic+mobmain[1].htm', which I also quarantine. It does this for each piece of mail.

Antivir reports them being in "C:\D&S\Owner\Local Settings\Temp Internet Files\Content.IE5\"

I did not post a HijackThis log, because I can read them and mine is clean. Plus user "slickjr169" has one posted there already for the same problem since 1\27\07, but noone has replied to it. My problem has been going on since then also.

I usually can "google" my way to solutions, but a search on the "applogic+mobmain[1].htm" thing only returns hits about 'usage stastics', web counters, 'site access trackers' and such (which kinda worries me!)

I did see this in a result:
http://webmail.bellsouth.net/cgi-bin/gx.cgi/Applogic+mobmain

I pasted this into my address bar and it returns me to my personal bellsouth.net email login page. I guess because I didn't dare fill in the login details!! It looked like my normal page.

I have made sure the \Content.IE5\ folder has been cleaned with Tracks Eraser Pro and CCleaner. But immediately after, I open the email, and Antivir still detects the HTML/Feebs.Gen varient.

I have scanned in Safe Mode with the following updated programs looking for worms, viruses, rootkits or trojans: Ewido, Bitdefender 9, Spyware Doctor, Spy Sweeper, Nod32, Windows Defender, F-Secure Blacklight, Spydefense, BitD-Rootkit Uncover, a-squared, Clamwin, Spybot S+D, Cure-it, Rootkit Revealer, Stinger, Bazooka and TrendMicro Antispyware.

I have a Look 'n' Stop firewall and always run Antivir, Ewido, SpywareGuard, Spyware Doctor and Windows Defender in real-time. The other are on demand scans.

I have never had anything like this problem and can find absolutely no information about it on the net to help me.

I am posting this in the Antivir forum, because after three days of troubleshooting this, I am beginning to think it might have to do with an Antivir update, as it is is the only program detecting anything. I am almost certain my system is clean. And I never open any email attatchments.

CilyPudi would appreciate any suggestions about what may be going on with me and the user slickjr169. I think he also uses bellsouth.net email. Thanks in advance.


_________________
Most of my irritations are created between the chair and the mouse.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message
RoseyJo

Trooper
Trooper
Premium Member

Joined: May 12, 2006
Posts: 20
Location: USA
Premium Team F@H

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 3:34 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Hi! Have you contacted the Anti-Vir forum or their technical support people? They can be quite helpful! Good luck! I feel your pain. Crying or Very sad

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
cilypudi

Cadet
Cadet


Joined: Jan 14, 2006
Posts: 8
Location: Bumfukteejipt, MS, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 7:22 am    Post subject: RE: HTML/Feebs.Gen
Reply with quote

Thanks RoseyJo. I just signed up to the Avira forum site, and indeed it appears this HTML/Feebs.Gen and the 'Applogic+mobmain[1].htm' is a false positive by Antivir related exclusively to a bellsouth.net email account! Whew....and CilyPudi is most grateful.


_________________
Most of my irritations are created between the chair and the mouse.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message
cilypudi

Cadet
Cadet


Joined: Jan 14, 2006
Posts: 8
Location: Bumfukteejipt, MS, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 9:23 am    Post subject: Avira false positive corrected
Reply with quote

I just got back from the Avira Forum and the false positive has been corrected with a simple update of Antivir. All is well and back to normal with my bellsouth.net email.

http://forum.antivir-pe.de/index.php


_________________
Most of my irritations are created between the chair and the mouse.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> AntiVir Personal Edition Classic All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Quick Reply:
Username: 

Quote the last message
Attach signature (signatures can be changed in profile)
 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
spacer spacer