| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
rusticdog
Site Moderator Premium Member
 Joined: Aug 12, 2002 Posts: 5850 Location: New_Zealand
|
Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:04 am Post subject: AntiVir rip off |
|
|
Might be of interest to the AntiVir folks if anyone has a contact.
Essentially charging for AntiVir download and also offering other services for those who join.
| Quote: | Ultra Fast Downloads
Latest updated versions
Get over 200+ free programs
Learn how to get free music, videos and more...
Multiple categories: utilities, applications, demos and much more...
All 100% malware free. |
http://download-antivir.com/
Same baloney as dozens of other fake download/support sites. Other rip offs include WinZip, Avast, IncrediMail, Skype, German and Italian software etc...
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
mrrockford
News Admin
 AVPE Host

 Joined: Apr 24, 2004 Posts: 2996
|
Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 9:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Howdy,
I sent a mail. Let's see if we get an answer.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
mav1976
Sergeant

 Joined: May 22, 2005 Posts: 116
|
Posted: Sat Dec 30, 2006 11:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
that's no official partner site I think. You have to pay for only a link? Very suspicious...!
| Quote: |
This website has no affiliation whatsoever with the owner of this software program, and provides ONLY a link to the software program. Copyright 2006, download-antivir.com. All rights reserved. |
I've informed Avira too. _________________ gruß mav
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
kr4ey
Trooper

 Joined: Aug 11, 2006 Posts: 15 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 5:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Why would somebody want to pay for a program that is easily downloaded and free on Avira's website?
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
mav1976
Sergeant

 Joined: May 22, 2005 Posts: 116
|
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 9:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| kr4ey wrote: | | Why would somebody want to pay for a program that is easily downloaded and free on Avira's website? |
That's easy to declare. That service hopes for the users ignorance and gullibility. _________________ gruß mav
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
kr4ey
Trooper

 Joined: Aug 11, 2006 Posts: 15 Location: USA
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 6:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| mav1976 wrote: | | kr4ey wrote: | | Why would somebody want to pay for a program that is easily downloaded and free on Avira's website? |
That's easy to declare. That service hopes for the users ignorance and gullibility. |
If somebody is that ignorant and gullible they shouldn't be sitting in front of a computer.
Beware! Never download software from unknown websites
Always download from the company's website.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
JackDaniel
Trooper

 Joined: Aug 16, 2007 Posts: 30 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 2:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
^or download.com
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Gutacher
Cadet

 Joined: Feb 03, 2004 Posts: 3 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
download-antivir.com is not the official AntiVir website. The site originates in Russia. This is what it says in MAfee Site Advisor:
The company that runs this site, CashEngines, has at least a thousand sites and counting. They use domain names that contain catchy phrases, in the hope of snaring unsuspecting consumers. The phrases "no fee," "free unlimited" and "no spyware" appear often on their sites.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|