CastleCops, Internet Crime Fighters
Need help? Click here to register for free! Absolutely zero advertisements on this site!

Donation/Premium
spacer
block bottom
Security Central
spacer
· Home
· PIRT/Fried Phish
· MIRT
· SIRT
· Deutsch
· Wiki
· Newsletter
· O16/ActiveX
· CLSID List
· Contest2007
· Downloads
· Feedback (send)
· Forums
· HijackThis
· Hijacktrend
· LSPs
· My Downloads
· O18
· O20
· O21
· O22
· O23
· O9
· Premium
· Private Messages
· Proxomitron
· Reviews
· Search
· StartupList
· Stories Archive
· Submit News
· WsIRT
· Your Account
· Acceptable Use Policy
block bottom
spacer spacer

Fast-flux (?) phishing

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Phishing, Fraud and Dastardly Deeds [del.icio.us!] [digg it!] [reddit!]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pwillener

SRT Trainee
SRT Trainee
Premium Member

Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 1813
Location: Japan
Premium

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 2:30 am    Post subject: Fast-flux (?) phishing
Reply with quote

Code:
http://securelogin-09668377.moneymanagergps.com.pnx42.com/Online_Form.htm

Currently resolves to
  • 24.122.6.20
  • 24.67.46.85
  • 58.38.79.216
  • 61.223.169.169
  • 70.245.70.48
  • 99.243.17.236
  • 122.126.10.6
  • 125.243.58.21
  • 190.136.73.33
  • 221.207.128.125

Reported to PIRT - hope they can cope with that.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website
s0tet

PIRT Handler


Joined: May 21, 2005
Posts: 2945

Phishing Squad

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:43 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Thank you for reporting that. Lots of IPs there, fast flux on a botnet, most likely.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Send email
pwillener

SRT Trainee
SRT Trainee
Premium Member

Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 1813
Location: Japan
Premium

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 4:59 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Here today, gone tomorrow...
Actually it's gone now Hello

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website
ahoier

SIRT Handler


Joined: Jan 14, 2006
Posts: 1087
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 5:14 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I tried accessing some of those IPs directly,

though some turned up, operation timed out....

Some (

Code:
http://70.245.70.48/Online_Form.htm
) turned up "Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at 70.245.70.48." - likely either it's offline, dynamic IP, etc..?

The other operation timed out ones...could it be possible they are still infected with the botnet software?

Have those hosts been contacted too, to get their customers cleaned up?

I'm guessing if the botnet malware is still active on those boxes, it's just one-command away to point them at a new domain?


Edit:
Code:
http://24.122.6.20/Online_Form.htm
is actually responding....with a 404...
Code:
OrgName:    COGECO Cable Canada Inc.
OrgID:      COQB
Address:    1630 6e rue
City:       Trois-Rivieres
StateProv:  QC
PostalCode: G8Y-5B8
Country:    CA

NetRange:   24.122.0.0 - 24.122.255.255
CIDR:       24.122.0.0/16
NetName:    RAPIDUS-02
NetHandle:  NET-24-122-0-0-1
Parent:     NET-24-0-0-0-0
NetType:    Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.CGOCABLE.CA
NameServer: NS2.CGOCABLE.CA
Comment:    ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
RegDate:    2001-04-18
Updated:    2006-12-18

RTechHandle: NETWO482-ARIN
RTechName:   Network Administrator
RTechPhone:  +1-819-379-2443
RTechEmail:  Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by DomainTools.com

OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE616-ARIN
OrgAbuseName:   Abuse Administrator
OrgAbusePhone:  +1-819-379-2443
OrgAbuseEmail:  Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by DomainTools.com

OrgTechHandle: NETWO482-ARIN
OrgTechName:   Network Administrator
OrgTechPhone:  +1-819-379-2443
OrgTechEmail:  Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by DomainTools.com

OrgName:    COGECO Cable Canada Inc.
OrgID:      COQB
Address:    1630 6e rue
City:       Trois-Rivieres
StateProv:  QC
PostalCode: G8Y-5B8
Country:    CA

NetRange:   24.122.0.0 - 24.122.63.255
CIDR:       24.122.0.0/18
NetName:    COQB-TR04
NetHandle:  NET-24-122-0-0-2
Parent:     NET-24-122-0-0-1
NetType:    Reassigned
NameServer: NS1.CGOCABLE.CA
NameServer: NS2.CGOCABLE.CA
Comment:   
RegDate:    2006-01-11
Updated:    2006-01-11

OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE616-ARIN
OrgAbuseName:   Abuse Administrator
OrgAbusePhone:  +1-819-379-2443
OrgAbuseEmail:  Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by DomainTools.com

OrgTechHandle: NETWO482-ARIN
OrgTechName:   Network Administrator
OrgTechPhone:  +1-819-379-2443
OrgTechEmail:  Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by DomainTools.com


Interesting enough?
Code:
http://24.122.6.20/
redirects to
Code:
http://www.microsoft.com/en/us/default.aspx
.....? lol. I wonder if the "host" took control sorta?

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
saintau

Trooper
Trooper


Joined: Jun 15, 2007
Posts: 15


PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 1:35 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

you will need to change your header/ref info to make the backend respond correctly.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Phishing, Fraud and Dastardly Deeds All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Quick Reply:
Username: 

Quote the last message
Attach signature (signatures can be changed in profile)
 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
spacer spacer