|
Donation/Premium |
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
SpotCheckBilly
1st Responder
 Joined: Jul 13, 2004 Posts: 158
|
Posted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 9:38 pm Post subject: Looks Very Suspicious to Me |
|
|
Return-Path: <info@fpcltd.com>
Received: from rrcs-mgw-01b.hrndva.rr.com ([172.28.193.154])
by rrcs-fep-02.hrndva.rr.com with ESMTP
id <20071031023215.SDHC27528.rrcs-fep-02.hrndva.rr.com@rrcs-mgw-01b.hrndva.rr.com>
for <My Address.com>; Tue, 30 Oct 2007 22:32:15 -0400
Received: from qmail2.america.net (HELO 24hoursupport.com) ([69.60.172.232])
by rrcs-mgw-01b.hrndva.rr.com with SMTP; 30 Oct 2007 22:33:44 -0400
Received: (qmail 11707 invoked by uid 1000); 31 Oct 2007 02:32:12 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO localhost) (smtpwebmail@america.net@127.0.0.1)
by qmail2.24hoursupport.com with SMTP; 31 Oct 2007 02:32:12 -0000
Received: from 207.179.67.248 ([207.179.67.248]) by webmail.russellma.net
(Horde MIME library) with HTTP; Tue, 30 Oct 2007 22:19:55 -0400
Message-ID: <20071030221955.kp7m7iw5m0dckw8o@webmail.russellma.net>
IMP-Mailbox: coachjones@russellma.net
Date: Tue, 30 Oct 2007 22:19:55 -0400
From: FEILONG PLASTIC COMPANY LTD <info@fpcltd.com>
Reply-to: companyjoboffer_info@yahoo.com.cn
To: undisclosed-recipients:;
Subject: Representatives/Agents Needed Urgently
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset=ISO-8859-1;
DelSp="Yes";
format="flowed"
Content-Disposition: inline
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
User-Agent: Internet Messaging Program (IMP) H3 (4.1.2)
ATTENTION!!!!
This mail is serving as an invitation to treat Urgently. I will not fail to
state that I am sorry for encroaching in your privacy. Feilong Plastic Compa=
ny
located in Zhejiang China, produces colour printing and multi-laminating
plastic packing bag for packing any kinds of products in China, some of them
are foil bags.
Due to the increase in demand of our products in America and Canada, we have
decided to move our products fully into the continent of America. We wish to
crave your indulgence that we are searching for reliable persons/companies i=
n
the United States, Canada, South America and Europe who can act as RECEIVING
OFFICER who will act as medium of reach between our customers and us in thei=
r
area. Note that, if finally aprroved as our Representative, you will be
entitled to 5% of
whatever amount you receive from customers who are making payments for
outstanding invoices on behalf of the company. Our account officer will conv=
ey
to you the medium which you will use to remit any funds received on =20
our behalf.
If you are interested in being a REPRESENTATIVE OFFICER in the above locatio=
n
and your locality, please fill out this form below:
Full name:
Residential Address:
Phone:
Occupation:
Country
Company name/Position (if any):
Gender:
Age:
Email:
Do you have an exclusive relationship with another China based =20
company? YES /NO
Note: You don't have to leave your present job for this since it is on part-
time basis. It is not time/ energy comsuming.
Thank you for your time.
Respectfully Submitted,
Contact Person: Ye Junpei
Email:companyjoboffer_info@yahoo.com.cn
__________ NOD32 2630 (20071031) Information __________
This message was checked by NOD32 antivirus system.
http://www.eset.com
Source edited to remove my actual e-mail address.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
brewt
SIRT Handler Premium Member
 Joined: May 29, 2007 Posts: 792 Location: USA
|
Posted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 10:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
99% chance it's fraud (and like 86% of of statistics, I just made that up).
you can report it to
1) spamcop to get the zombie taken care of
and
2) yahoo (by forwarding full headers and message body) to ask them to examine the yahoo email address for complicity in fraud
forward email to: network-abuse
with fqdn: cc.yahoo-inc.com | Quote: | Although the attached message was not sent using yahoo, a yahoo account appears be used in complicity with the email scam as a point of contact.
Please investigate and take punitive action as necessary against user: companyjoboffer_info@yahoo.com.cn | You can verify that this is a real, live email address by checking out the profile.
http://profiles.yahoo.com/companyjoboffer_info
(which redirects to http://cn.profiles.yahoo.com/companyjoboffer_info )
It will 404 if you put in an invalid uname,
e.g.
http://profiles.yahoo.com/runtothepills
http://profiles.yahoo.com/nomorepies
http://profiles.yahoo.com/hollowedbethighname
[edit] the above email is not technically "phishing" (and therefore, should not be submitted to PIRT)
the term "phishing" has become so specific that mere fraud which attempts to fool a user into supplying the fraudster with personal information is not considered "phishing."
here's my paraphrase of the criteria to be considered phishing:
deceiving a user into thinking a web site belongs to a recognizable, known-legitimate institution, and into divulging their personal information (i.e. login, password, mother's maiden name, etc.).
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
pwillener
SRT Trainee
 Premium Member
 Joined: Apr 17, 2006 Posts: 1813 Location: Japan
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ahoier
SIRT Handler
 Joined: Jan 14, 2006 Posts: 1087 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 3:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
yahoo takes reports quite seriously, I've gotten responses from humans within 24 hours (sometimes faster) regarding report spam, that contained @yahoo.* (to include .com .co.uk, .hk, etc...)
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
SpotCheckBilly
1st Responder
 Joined: Jul 13, 2004 Posts: 158
|
Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 9:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks everyone. Good thing that I posted the entire thing here (although I can no longer forward it anywhere) so at least I can pass it on to the links suggested. I didn't report it to PIRT because it didn't ask for any specific personal information. I will probably get this one again -- this is the second time I've received it and if I do I'll go ahead and forward as advised. The second time around it was different because in the first one I asked for the name of my bank but no account numbers etc.
I recognized it as a probable scam and have alerted my friends and family to watch out for it. I'll give them in the same information I got here as to where they can report/forward.
Thanks again. -- SCB
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
tembow
Blue Angel Premium Member
 Joined: Oct 10, 2005 Posts: 2933
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Lightscribe
Lieutenant

 Joined: Nov 03, 2007 Posts: 207 Location: South_Africa
|
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:41 pm Post subject: Another sucker born each day... |
|
|
Apart from the "money mule" aspect, it's also a case of straight forward money laundering.
When I did contract work for a major casino group (my girlfriend worked in admin. for them), I was told by the general manager, during a lghthearted discussion in the office, that:
"We don't care if a MVG (Most Valued Guest) signup account shows that the person earns 4,000,00 Dollars a month from their government dept. job, but gambles away 50,000,00 a day, day after day, at the casino. It's not our job to police the guests. If they steal the money from their workplace, they will probably be caught at some stage. In the meantime, it's revenue for the company..."
Also said was: "We, just like casino's worldwide, even have people that launder money through the casino system, because it's basically an almost guaranteed minimum 18% payback on the money they gamble away. That means it is money they are legally allowed to have, since they won it from a casino. Many win much more than the minimum..."
What makes me wonder, is why the Tax offices of various countries, do not have a team at each casino in the world, doing their own surveillance of guests...Then again, perhaps they do...  _________________ "The greatest thing you could ever learn, is just to love...and be loved in return."
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
|
You can post new topics in this forum You can reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You can attach files in this forum You can download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
|