| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
copakeman
Sergeant
 Premium Member
 Joined: Apr 12, 2004 Posts: 90
|
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:20 pm Post subject: XP Windows Live Hotmail bogus email ? |
|
|
Hello all. I just received the following email. Is this really from Microsoft Windows Live Hotmail ? It seems phony to me. I am posting the question here because I wasn't sure of a more appropriate forum. I am using IE6, XP SP2 with the latest upgrades. I've this hotmail account for 8 + years. Someone loooking for my password seems phony.
If this is phony, who can I report it to ?
This is the email. It really looks like its from MS.
Verify Your Account now To Avoid It Closedž
From: WINDOWS (windowslive008@rediffmail.com)
You may not know this sender. Mark as safe | Mark as unsafe
Sent:Mon 2/11/08 10:12 AM
Reply-to:WINDOWS (windowslive008@rediffmail.com)
To: cryptobranchidae@hotmail.com
Dear Account User,
This Email is from Hotmail Customer Care and we are sending it to every Hotmail Email User Accounts Owner for safety.We are having congestions due to the anonymous registration of Hotmail accounts so we are shutting down some Hotmail accounts.We are sending you this email so that you can verify your account.Confirm your account by filling the lines below.
* Username: ..............................
* Password: ................................
* Date of Birth: ............................
* Country Or Territory: ................
After following the instructions in the sheet, your account will not be interrupted and will continue as normal. Thanks for your attention and co-operation to this request. We apologize for any inconveniences this might in anyway cause.
Warning!!! Account owner that refuses to update his/her account three days of receiving this warning will lose his or her account permanently.
Sincerely,
The Windows Live Hotmail Team
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
k027
Special Response Team Guest Forums Host

 Joined: Aug 25, 2003 Posts: 8517
|
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Smells fishy to me.
I haven't received any such "verification" notices in any of my HotMail accounts.
If this was really from Microsoft there wouldn't seem to be any point in asking you to again tell them what your UserID and Password are since you already supplied this information to Microsoft a few minutes ago when you logged into your Hotmail account to retrieve the message in question.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
copakeman
Sergeant
 Premium Member
 Joined: Apr 12, 2004 Posts: 90
|
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the reply. Yes, thats why I thought it was bogus. I also thought most of the members here would have received it too (if it was real).
c
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|