CastleCops, Internet Crime Fighters
Need help? Click here to register for free! Absolutely zero advertisements on this site!

Donation/Premium
spacer
block bottom
Security Central
spacer
· Home
· PIRT/Fried Phish
· MIRT
· SIRT
· Deutsch
· Wiki
· Newsletter
· O16/ActiveX
· CLSID List
· Contest2007
· Downloads
· Feedback (send)
· Forums
· HijackThis
· Hijacktrend
· LSPs
· My Downloads
· O18
· O20
· O21
· O22
· O23
· O9
· Premium
· Private Messages
· Proxomitron
· Reviews
· Search
· StartupList
· Stories Archive
· Submit News
· WsIRT
· Your Account
· Acceptable Use Policy
block bottom
spacer spacer

Windows Antivirus 2008/ System Antivirus 2008 - rogues

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Web Malware Links [del.icio.us!] [digg it!] [reddit!]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sparsha

Trooper
Trooper


Joined: Nov 06, 2007
Posts: 31
Location: India

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 4:13 pm    Post subject: Windows Antivirus 2008/ System Antivirus 2008 - rogues
Reply with quote

Windows Antivirus 2008
uses hxxp://wav2008.com

System Antivirus 2008
uses hxxp://sav2008.com

both are rogue security applications distributed by SSH Zlob trojan

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
sparsha

Trooper
Trooper


Joined: Nov 06, 2007
Posts: 31
Location: India

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 5:20 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Vista Antivirus 2008
hxxp://Vav2008.com

This one is a clone of the above said rogues

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
tetak

MIRT Team Lead
Premium Member

Joined: Jan 19, 2007
Posts: 5866

MIRT Premium

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:01 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I've added both install files, the main .exe files and the 2 .cpl files to the malware listserv.


_________________
Got Windows XP? Help protect your PC from malware with Microsofts anti-spyware program Windows Defender.

Download it for free from http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/spyware/software/default.mspx
Back to top
View users profile Send private message
logicman_alf

Corporal
Corporal


Joined: Aug 18, 2006
Posts: 72
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:48 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

These people are using the same Danish phone number
(+45.36946676)
as the people responsible for storm/fast-flux :
http://www.disog.org/text/storm-fastflux.txt

A google for that phone number throws up lots of complaints
and malware reports, e.g.
CastleCops Link/Backdoor_malware11361.html

Domains such as wav2008.com are registered for one year only,
another pointer to rogue status for a supposed large organisation.
wav2008.com and the others have a contact via privacyprotect.org.

privacyprotect.org, whether legitimate or not, is used
by many of these rogues to help cover their tracks.
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/privacyprotect.org?ref=safe&client_ver=FF_26.6_6265&locale=en-US&premium=false&client_type=FF&aff_id=0


_________________
Relax! It's just an opinion! Smile
http://www.mywot.com/
http://www.siteadvisor.com/
Back to top
View users profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Web Malware Links All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Quick Reply:
Username: 

Quote the last message
Attach signature (signatures can be changed in profile)
 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
spacer spacer